com·pas·sion | kəmˈpaSHən | Noun

That Snarky Vegan Girl

Why did getting sober lead me to a more honest, compassionate life?

com·pas·sion
kəmˈpaSHən
noun
  1. sympathetic pity and concern for the sufferings or misfortunes of others.
    “the victims should be treated with compassion”

Before I got sober, I wore blinders over my eyes, guarding myself from much of the horrors that carry on in the world. Wars, murders, abuse, hate.  I just didn’t have the desire to face the truths.  I was too broken to deal, really.

After I got sober, I started to de-numb, and face many truths I once shied away from.  I began to look deeper into areas of life that affected me, but I was unaware of its effect.  Factory farming is one area I began to pay close attention to.

At the time of new sobriety, I was not a big meat-eater.  I ate some turkey or chicken on occasion.  But I did eat a…

View original post 446 more words

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

